MCC Settles Raging Debate: Akash Deep’s Wicket of Joe Root Declared Legal

MCC Settles Raging Debate: Akash Deep’s Wicket of Joe Root Declared Legal

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the authoritative body for cricket’s laws, has officially put an end to the widespread debate surrounding Akash Deep’s dismissal of Joe Root in the recent Edgbaston Test between England and India. The MCC has confirmed that the delivery was entirely legal, despite replays causing controversy over the Indian pacer’s back foot position.

The Controversial Dismissal

During the second innings of the Edgbaston Test, Indian pacer Akash Deep clean bowled England’s talismanic batter Joe Root with a sharp incoming delivery.

The wicket was a crucial breakthrough, reducing England to 50/3 while chasing a formidable target of 608. However, soon after, television footage emerged showing Akash Deep’s back foot appearing to touch or even cross the return crease, sparking a furious debate among fans and commentators alike about whether it should have been called a no-ball.

The Heart of the Debate: Law 21.5.1 and “First Point of Contact”

The core of the controversy revolved around Law 21.5.1 of the Laws of Cricket, which states: “For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride the bowler’s back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery.”

Commentators, including former England batter Jonathan Trott, initially questioned the legality, pointing to the visual evidence. However, former India coach Ravi Shastri, on air at the time, maintained that the delivery was legal. The third umpire, Paul Reiffel, also allowed the dismissal to stand.

MCC’s Definitive Clarification

To settle the matter once and for all, the MCC issued a detailed explanation, emphasizing their long-standing interpretation of Law 21.5.1.

An MCC spokesperson clarified: “MCC has always defined the moment that the back foot lands as the first point of contact with the ground. As soon as there is any part of the foot touching the ground, that foot has landed, and it is the foot’s position at that time which is to be considered for a back foot no ball.”

The Verdict: Legal Delivery

Applying this interpretation to Akash Deep’s delivery, the MCC concluded: “Clearly, at the point Deep’s foot first touched the ground, the back foot was within and not touching the return crease. Some of his foot may have touched the ground outside the crease subsequently – that is not relevant to this Law. At the point of landing he was within the crease, and this was therefore rightly deemed to be a legal delivery.”

This definitive ruling by the MCC effectively resolves the contentious issue, confirming that the dismissal of Joe Root was valid and that Akash Deep’s bowling action was within the laws of the game. The decision supports the on-field and third umpire’s judgment, putting to rest the heated discussions that followed the pivotal wicket in the Edgbaston Test.

Comments

No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *